top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngie Kennedy-Curran

Why Study Abroad?

It was kind of unexpected to study abroad for a semester in my fourth year at Northeastern. After I got to Scotland I felt kind of confused and wondered why I was doing this. It felt like I was taking a random 5 month break from school, from my life as I know it. But now, on a plane from Berlin to Edinburgh, I see that I’m accumulating so many amazing life experiences, some that other people may never have. Meeting people my age from other countries and realizing the world is bigger than I knew it was. Visiting other countries and finding out how they do things there. Taking life science classes that teach me so much and make me realize what I want to do with my education and career. Learning how to travel around the world without adults - I’m the adult. Trying new things so outside my comfort zone and gaining wisdom from the experiences. Doing it all with other people I just met ~1 month ago and having each other’s backs, forming deep bonds. I feel like it was fate, or just a lucky coincidence, that I decided to go abroad at this moment in my life. It’s given me so much perspective on things and what I want to do with my life when I get back. I feel so grateful and love my life so much!




62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page