top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngie Kennedy-Curran

Embrace the Unknown

I was a little nervous to come to Scotland all by myself. I’d never traveled alone before. I’d been abroad once before, but that was for 5 weeks. 5 months would be a little different! I was worried about leaving my family and friends for so long. Would I make new friends? What would my life be like?


When I arrived at Edinburgh airport, I wasn’t sure where I was supposed to go. But I had blind confidence that I would figure everything out. I followed the signs which brought me to the passport eGates. The University of Dundee had told me I would need to get a stamp in my passport when entering the UK in order to register as a student. I’d never seen eGates at an airport before and wasn't sure if I needed to go through them, but I didn’t see an alternative way through, so I figured it was the right thing to do. After I went through baggage claim, I tried to find a place where I could get a stamp in my passport, but I couldn't find anything. I ended up outside waiting in the dark for the bus to Dundee. I just stood there and tried to look confident, but on the inside I was hoping I was in the right place and the bus would show up. Thankfully, it did, and I felt a wave of relief when I got onboard. Except I couldn’t shake the worry that I never got a stamp in the airport. I checked my emails to reread the information I'd received and read something scary I had forgotten about: “Do not use the eGates at airports.” I suddenly felt a feeling of dread. Would I have to go home before starting the semester because of this stupid mistake? It didn’t even feel real that I was in Scotland. Riding through the gorgeous countryside to Dundee, I tried my best to put that thought aside for the moment and enjoy the ride and the beautiful scenery. After all, I was seeing something totally new and wanted to take it all in, especially if there was a chance I couldn’t stay.


Once I arrived in Dundee, it was beautiful. Everyone was so kind, my accommodation was amazing, and my flat mates were great! Lots of things were new and confusing. I soon got in touch with someone from the university about my passport situation and found out there was a simple solution to my problem. I was so relieved to know there was a solution, but surprised to find out I had to travel to another country by the end of the week before classes started! I would have to leave the country so I could re-enter the UK and get the stamp. The person who helped me was kind enough to check out some flight information and figured out that a day trip to Paris would probably be my cheapest option. I had a couple of choices available for flights, but I decided to pick the one that left Edinburgh at 6 am and returned at 10:20 pm so I would have enough time in-between to explore Paris. That meant I would have to leave my house at 2 am to catch the 2:30 am bus from Dundee to Edinburgh Airport!


As I was planning my trip, I started to get so much anxiety. What if something happened to me while I was there, and there was no one with me to help? What if I was too naïve to make a solid plan and I missed my flight back to Scotland? What if I couldn’t figure things out and catastrophe ensued?


The night before I was leaving, I went out with my new flat mates. We left early in the evening so I could make it home in time to catch some sleep. I was having a great time and feeling so happy. One of my flat mates thought it was hilarious that I was leaving at 2 am for Paris, and another was telling me I was a legend. For the first time, I wasn’t worried about my trip anymore. Instead they made me feel so confident and excited. I realized this trip was a blessing in disguise, a lucky opportunity to have a once in a lifetime experience and gain a great story to tell. I decided to enjoy the carefree moment and stayed out late with my flat mates. One of them made me some sandwiches for the road, I packed my bag, slept for 1 hour and woke up ready to embark on a journey of a lifetime.


I got to Paris and once again felt a little clueless (to be honest, I got lost in the airport again). But I didn’t let it phase me and was on my way. When the bus from the airport got to Paris, I woke up to see the famous Arc de Triomphe through the window and I couldn't believe my eyes. I walked down the Champs-Elysees, saw the Louvre, walked by the River Seine, and saw Notre Dame. I tried the most advanced porter potty I’ve ever seen, got on the metro, and made my way towards the Eiffel Tower. I stopped in a bistro and ate escargot and some cheesy garlic bread. It was delicious! The last thing I did in Paris was see the Eiffel Tower up close. It was breathtaking! I had a great day in Paris and I didn’t feel lonely, but rather happy and stimulated.


Trying something new
Unreal!

When I got to Edinburgh, I was exhausted. But I knew I had one important responsibility left before I could go back to Dundee and rest in my bed. When I finally got that stamp in my passport, I felt a grin spread across my face.


It was ages before I finally got back to Dundee at 2 am the next day, and when I finally made it, I felt cheerful and relieved to be back. That’s when I realized that even though I’d only been there for a week, Dundee and my flat mates were starting to feel like home. And I was so grateful and comforted by that feeling.


There have been lots of times since coming to Scotland that I’ve made a mistake, had a problem, or wasn’t sure what to do. Preparing to travel alone I was scared, but I learned how to take care of myself and got to experience something amazing. Though I don’t plan to do many 24-hour trips in the future, I want to have many more moments of living life to the fullest while in Dundee and Boston.


I would recommend studying abroad to anyone. I thought that the UK wouldn’t be so different than America and I wouldn’t have much to figure out, but personally I’ve realized that wasn’t entirely true. Living in another country forces you to get out of your comfort zone, solve new problems and experience new things. I’ve grown confidence knowing that the next time I get myself into an unfamiliar situation, I’ll be just fine. And even when I’m uncertain, I’ll slow down and live in the moment. Being scared can be a good thing, and the unknown can bring experiences you never imagined!

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page